Before I Met You

Before I met you, I didn’t know what it was to spend hours waiting for a text message reply.

Before I met you, I didn’t truly know what it was to cry.

Before I met you, I never understood what it meant to fall… Or to just keep falling, not knowing how to stop.

Before I met you, I wasn’t ever so sure about anyone… nor about how much I wanted them for my own.

Before I met you, I never used to glance away when other men would look my way.

Before I met you, I never used to spend all day thinking about anyone… (and if I’m entirely honest, maybe the whole night too).

Before I met you, I’d never known a loving touch or look that ever made my heart so swell.

Before I met you, I never feared to tell anyone I loved them so much it made me want to cry.

Before I met you, I never understood the finality that exists in saying good-bye.

Before I met you, I had never really missed anyone so much it felt like a physical pain that wouldn’t go away.

Before I met you, I had never been fully acquainted with my own unrestrained smile.

Before I met you, I’d never felt so at home around another human soul.

Before I met you, no one else’s arms had ever really felt like home.

Before I met you, I don’t think I had ever quite laughed so much, nor made such witty jokes.

Before I met you, I had never looked into another’s eyes and found myself unable to look away, as I happily drowned in their endless depths.

Before I met you, I had never been so afraid of ending up as second best.

Before I met you, I was able to contemplate liking other men.

Before I met you, I never understood the truest meaning of heart-clenching, unrelenting, all-powerful love.

Before I met you, I hadn’t quite ever lived and I certainly hadn’t really even met myself…

Before I met you, sometimes I think that, back then, I didn’t fully exist…  

 

Leave a Reply

