My love affair with trains pre-Metrorail

I’ve  always  thought  there’s  something  oddly  soothing  and  romantic  about  trains.  You  see  train  rides documented  in  movies  and  they  always  seem  like  such  ‘fun’.  (With  the  possible  exception  of  Harry Potter’s journey  to  Hogwarts in  films  number  3-7) 

It’s that slow, carefree  journey  to  a  new  destination  or a  riveting  ride,  which  ends  unexpectedly  (think:  The  Chronicles  of  Narnia)  but  more  often  than  not,  it’s a  clean,  elegant  and  pleasant  trip  through  picturesque  countryside  or  taking  perfectly  spaced underground  rides,  which  never  show  how  we  commuters  squash  up  against  each  other  or  jostle  for  a free spot  to stand,  never  mind sit.

My first  train  experience  came  after  years  of  yearning  when  I  finally  boarded  a  train  to  head  to  the  FIFA 2010  World  Cup  from  Century  City  to  the  Cape  Town  Station.  It  wasn’t  crammed  and  despite  the unpleasant,  wet  weather,  we  all  had  a  seat  and  there  was  plenty  of  cheer  and  colourfulness  to  go  around, what  with all  the football  fans and  their  paraphernalia.  We  were excited  and  at  ease.  There was  a sense of  celebration,  as  much as  a  sense of  occasion.

Coming  back  from  Cape  Town  station,  our  return  journey  was  less…  enjoyable.  I  remember  being pressed  up  against  a  young  guy  who  kept  us  all  quietly  amused  with  his  dark  jokes  (which  generally involved  his  commentary  on  the  delightful  carriage  conditions  and  the  crowdedness)  and  although  the journey  was  a  relatively  short  one,  there  was  yet  again  a  prevailing  sense  of  safety  and  calm.  I  didn’t think  to  clutch  more  tightly  at  my  bag  than  I  usually  do  or  worry  about  who  would  be  boarding  at  our next  stop.

Since  then,  I’ve  had  a  few  more  train  journeys  on  South  Africa’s  very  own  Metrorail…  I’ve  heard people  call  it  ‘Metrofail’  with  no  small  amount  of  frustration  and  barely  concealed  disgust  and sometimes,  this  is  indeed  (sadly)  the  case  –  but  I’m  not  going  to  focus  on  all  of  the  negatives.

image

Because  the  truth  is,  even  though  every  single  time  I  board the  train  (which is  at  least  twice  daily  now, morning  and  evening  when  it  is  dark  out),  I  worry  about  my  personal  safety,  I  have  already  had  a  few good experiences  and have  met  some  kind, polite and generally  good people.  

In  fact,  I’d  go  so  far  as  to  say  those  people,  people  like  you  and  I  who  hope  we’re  decent  and  respectable citizens,  make  up  the  majority  and  not  the  minority. 

They’re  people  travelling  to  work,  uni  or  school, people  heading  home  at  the  end  of  a  long  day  or  else, travelling  somewhere  for  the  new  day  but  whatever the case may  be and wherever  they  may  be heading, they’re not  so different  from  you or  me…

It’s  something  I’ve  tried  to  remember  when  I  have  ended  up  on  a  train  so  full  that  people  are  hanging out  the  doors  and  we’re  squashed  like  sardines  (or  something  more  sinister,  perhaps)  and  sure,  I’ve joked  and  said  I  think  I  need  an  anti-lice  dip  afterwards  but  honestly,  I  have  begun  to  understand  that the  person  crammed  up  against  me  doesn’t  like  it  any  more  than  I  do. 

They  don’t  want  to  board  an overcrowded  train  but  when  trains  get  delayed  or  cancelled  and  they  need to  get  home  before nightfall or  make it  to work  on time,  then  sure, they’ll  squish  and squash to  fit  onto  that  damn train.  

I’ve  learnt  that  myself  this  week  as  a  result  of  the  tragic  and  senseless  shooting  of  a  Metrorail  driver (Seriously,  what  the  hell  does  someone  get  out  of  shooting  a  train  driver?  There’s  nothing  even  to steal…  I  just  don’t  understand)  and the subsequent  delays  and  cancellations  since  which  have  seen  me forced to board trains  choc-a-bloc with people because  it  means I’ll  get  home before 18:30  p.m.  –  even if  it’s only  by  a few minutes  at  that.

I’ve  also  learned  that  the  Metrorail  trains  might  be  painted  with  graffiti  and  signed  by  rival  gangs  inside and  out  and  the  seats  might  be  dirty  or  spewing  cushioning  but  someone  sweeps  the  floors  (I  saw  that today  first-hand  and  he  did  a  good  job)  –  but  they’re  not  quite  as  bad  as  I  had  envisioned  from  all  the dread  reports.

Sometimes, when I’m  sitting  in one now, I  realise  that  even as I  anxiously  take note of  who boards  my train  or  carefully  watch  out  the  window  as  we  jerk  to  a  stop  at  each  new  station,  that  I’m  beginning  to understand  more  about  Cape  Town  and  the  beauty  and  diversity  of  this  city  than  I  would  ever  have hoped  to find  in such a, well,  an  infamous thing  and  that  is:  train  travel,  which is indeed  the  lowest  tier of  public transport  in South  Africa.

There  are things I  can tell  you about  my  city  that  I  didn’t  know  little over  a week  ago. For example,  by now  I  can judge the suburbs  depending  on the scenery  and landmarks outside  my  grimy  window.  I  see the  brewery  and  know  we’re  at  Newlands  station  or  I  look  for  the  buildings  and  homes,  which  just  have that  ‘Obs’  feel  to  them  or  spy  out  the  Mill  outbuildings  to  which,  I  assume,  Woodstock’s  popular  Old Biscuit  Mill  owes  its name.

image

I  know  that  you  can  slip  underground  through  the  subway  at  Claremont  and  head  from  one  side  to  the other  in  the  space  of  two  minutes,  saving  yourself  from  crossing  a  lot  of  busy  intersections  –  though, conveniently,  usually  the  subway  floods  with  water  when  you  most  need  it  to  be  open  (the  cold  front last  week  was  one  such  time).  

I  know,  too,  some  of  the  faces  of  people  who  board  the  train  at  the  same  time  as  me  and  they  feel  like ‘friends’  now  because  they  were  kind  enough  to  guide  me  in  my  first  few,  somewhat  overwhelmingly train  trips  last  week. 

I’ve  listened  to  some  of  the  most  intriguing  conversations,  music  and  gospel singing  (though  not  necessarily  by  choice  but  there  you  go)  and  shared  a  quiet  word  or  small  smile  with a fellow  passenger  from  time-to-time.  

I’ve  watched  the  sun  rise  and  set  in  my  city,  as  these  weary  old  trains  rumble  over  well-worn  tracks  and I’ve  stared  with  mixed  wonder  and  calm  at  the  forested  slopes  of  Table  Mountain  from  new  perspective of  the  Southern  Suburbs  before  slowly,  finally  or  sometimes  (if  we’re  lucky)  even  quickly,  my  part  of the  city,  the  place  I  now  greet  with  a  sense  of  familiarity  and  belonging,  judders  into  view  and  I  am reminded  again  of  how  beautiful  and  unique  my  city  and  its  habitants  truly  are.  Even  at  the  worst  of times.

I  thought  that  Metrorail  would be the  end of  my  love affair  with trains  and  in  so many  ways, perhaps  it has  taken away  some of  the  magic of  train  rides  but  well,  it’s  teaching  me new  things too about  human nature  and  decentness  and  how  to  suss  out  the  dodgier  folk  from  the  decent…  it’s  teaching  me  how  to be a  responsible adult  when  all  my life  is changing  and sometimes, these  train trips  are the times  when I  am  best  able  to  reflect,  process  and  disengage. 

Perhaps because of  this  reason  alone,  I  can  occasionally  find  a  whole lot  of  good  even  in  the  midst  of  the  bad  –  and  more  often  than  not  these  days,  it’s  oddly enough because  of  my  Metrorail journeys.

image

2 thoughts on “My love affair with trains pre-Metrorail

  1. I love your writing.
    Thank you for your post. I was thinking that maybe you could help me on this one:
    I’m having a dilemma (do I break my engagement or not) and I really need an advice…
    If you can stop by and let me know what you think about the situation it would be really nice ❤
    Thanks,
    (the last article: everything is falling apart)

Leave a Reply

