When Goodness Comes Begging

I  often  look  out  my  three-storey  window  at  the  city  life  below  at  the  various  people  passing  by:  the gaggle  of  school  girls  chattering  on  their  way  home  from  school  and  the  dejected-looking  university students  tramping  to  the  local  grocery  store  to  stock  up  on  some  food  supplies  or  the  busy  workaholics, eternally  pressed  for  time in  a city  that  really  never  sleeps.

I  do  this  early  in  the  morning,  as  I  walk  about  my  room,  deciding  what  I’ll  need  for  the  day  and  pulling clothes  out  of  my  cupboard  or  otherwise,  sometimes  late  in  the  afternoon  or  early  evening,  when  it’s time  for  most  people  to  head  home  and  I  like  to  admire  the  sun  set  from  my  ‘room  with  a  view’,  and  I can  tell  you,  it’s  not  too  often  that  I  see  things  that  make  me  smile  or  feel  better  about  the  world  but lately, that’s been changing.

image

It  started  a  few  weeks  ago  with  the  young,  stocky  father  who  playfully  walks  to  the  shop  with  his  tiny daughter  on  a  regular  basis  now  and  makes  me  grin  at  his  unexpected  tenderness  and  open  affection  for his child  –  but  last  week, well,  I  saw something  that,  at  first,  quietly  annoyed me.

You  see, in  my  city  –  and  many  other  places  besides  –  people  seem  to think  that  it’s  okay  to  leave  their rubbish  lying  around  because  you have garbage removal  services or  street-sweepers,  so if  they  toss  the odd,  empty  chip  packet  down  several  steps  away  from  the  nearest  green  rubbish  bin  (or  the  ‘Zappit  in the Zippy’  bin, if  you’re South African…), what  does it  really  matter?

Or,  if  a  beggar  comes  along  to  rummage  through  said  bins  (which  they  often  do  and  sometimes,  through a  recycling  process,  it’s  the  only  means  of  income  open  to  them),  strewing  the  week’s  trash  across  the pavement  or  down  into  the  gutters,  is  it  really  the  end of  the  world? (Well,  no,  not  quite  but  keep  it  up and let’s see  how  much longer  we have a  hospitable and beautiful  planet  to  enjoy… Just  saying.)

Okay,  so  I  better  fess  up and  tell  you  that  I’m  the  kind of  person  who  has,  in  the  past, lunged  across  to a  driver’s  seat  to  retrieve,  wait  for  it,  wait  for  it,  a  wooden  ice-cream  stick  from  someone  who  was  about to  subtly  chuck  it  out  an  open  car  window,  as  I  fiercely  exclaimed  with  no  small  amount  of  feeling, “No!  Give  me  that,  you  can’t  litter!”,  so  I  am,  admittedly,  a  little  hyper-sensitive  when  it  comes  to overtly  discarded  rubbish  and/or  any  kind of  littering.

It’s the  most  serious  L-word I  know, if  I’m  completely  honest,  and  if  you try  it  around me, I  will  either reward  you  with  a  potent  death  stare  or  force  you  to  pick  whatever  it  is  you  dropped  back  up  and  find  a rubbish bin  if  you know  what’s good for  you  –  or  occasionally,  if  all  else fails, I’ll  do it  myself.

So  I  can’t  quite  fathom  how  someone  –  and  a  ‘respectable-looking’  someone  at  that  –  can  be  out  on  their morning  run  and  literally  five  metres  past  a    rubbish  bin,  they  can  actually  have  the  nerve  to  throw  a crumpled  energy  drink  can  down  into  the  gutter.  All  I  do  know  is  that  this  particular  fellow  was  mighty lucky  he  was  running  away  from  my  window  and  not  towards  it…  because  I  have  a  pretty  good  aim and enough missiles  to  propel  out  my  window  if  need  be. (Again,  just  saying.)

Things  like  that  boggle  my  mind  and  make  me  feel  temporarily  annoyed.  I  mean,  seriously,  it’s  not  like it  would  have  killed  him  to  jog  on  with  that  can  and  throw  it  into  the  next  rubbish  bin  immediately available  to  him  (and  in  Cape  Town,  I  can  attest  to  their  being  placed  quite  plentifully  throughout  the city  and  its many  side streets)  –  but  I  digress.

This  piece  is  not  about  the  kind  of  lazy  or  selfish  person  who  does  that  sort  of  thing,  even  when  they supposedly  should  ‘know  better’  or  who  has  the  pleasure  of  enjoying  all  of  life’s  comforts.  No,  it’s about  the beggar  who  came  along  on a chilly  morning  last  week  and started rifling  through a black  bin standing  on the street  directly  below  my  window.

I  saw  this  when  I  paused  in  front  of  the  window  to  drink  a glass  of  water  and  happened  to  momentarily glance  downwards  at  the  street,  attracted  by  the  sound  of  clanging  and  clattering  drifting  in  through  my open window.

I  stiffened  as  I  watched  this  faceless  figure  further  open  the  bin’s  lid  as  he  began  to  sift  through  its contents.  As  it  was,  the  bin  was  overfull  and  half  its  contents  were  already  lying  in  an  embarrassed  heap at  its,  uh,  wheels,  waiting  to  be  put  right  by  the  waste  removal  truck,  which  was  due  to  come  along  any minute,  as  it  was  the weekly  ‘rubbish collection  day’,  so to  speak.

I  started  to  feel  indignant  and  I  must  confess  my  sin:  I  considered  tipping  the  remainder  of  my  water out  the  window,  if  only  to  shock  the  person  and  cause  them  to  think  twice  about  doing  this.

Now,  please try  not  to  misunderstand  because  I  am  sympathetic  towards  the  city’s  vagrants  and  I,  more  than  most others,  have  seen  the  heart-wrenching  lengths  they  must  go  to  find  bits  of  rubbish  to  use  as  additions  to their  makeshift  shelters  or  even  searching  for  someone  else’s  half-eaten  meal  to  subsist  on.  I  also  know that  if  they  go  about  it  right,  they  can  recycle  the  rubbish  and  receive  small  payment  in  return  for  this unpleasant  but  vital  job, as  I  mentioned  above.

So don’t  think  I  was  out  to  be  a  cold-hearted  cow  or  spitefully  ruin  some  poor  unfortunate human’s  ‘treasure  hunt’  (this  gives  a  whole  new  meaning  to  the  ‘one  man’s  rubbish  is  another  man’s treasure’  expression)  but  I  also  didn’t  want  to  see  the  city  streets  choking  underneath  any  more  rubbish either.

The  beer  bottles  and  bottle  caps,  the  chip  packets  and  shopping  bags  and  all  things  besides…  after  a while,  I  get  tired  of  all  the  mess  and  feel  sad  because  of  the  irreparable  damage  that  is  being  done  to  a world, which  is  already  clogged up with  rubbish  and waste.

Still,  I  don’t  suppose  I  would  have  had  the  heart  to  have  actually  thrown  water  near  that  poor  soul (though  if  Mr  Jogger  Dude  ever  comes  back  again,  well,  he’ll  get,  at  the  bare  minimum,  an  unexpected shower  from  above…),  who  was  carefully  selecting  certain items  from  the  bin  and  placing  them  into a packet,  so  instead,  I  shook  my  head,  sighed  slightly  and  moved  away  from  the  window,  as  I  tried  to block  out  the  sounds  of  him  tipping  the  rubbish  bin  over  and  spilling  all  its  contents  out  onto  the  street.

Here  we  go  again…  the  same  old,  same  old  scenario.  ‘Refuse  raiders’  often  do  this  so it’s  a  sight  I  am now  sadly  well-acquainted  with and one  I  don’t  often  expect  to  end  any  differently.

That  said,  the  world  is  full  of  all  kinds  of  good  people  and  that  innate  goodness  is  not  limited  to  any  one race,  religion,  culture,  gender  or  sexual  orientation,  despite  what  the  infamous  and  mysterious  ‘they’ would have you believe. (So maybe  I  should have been less quick  to expect  the worst.)

That  proved  to  be  the  case  on  this  particular  morning  when,  some  ten  minutes  later,  I  braced  myself  and went  back  to the  window  to  peer  out  at  the sight  I  expected to  see:  discarded  rubbish  and  a  street  gone to  pot  –  but  what  I  saw  instead  literally  and unexpectedly  moved  me  to  tears  and made  me  feel  like the most  horrid  person  imaginable  for  the  thoughts  I  had  been  harbouring  about  this  man  who  came  to  raid that  bin.

For  you  see,  he  hadn’t  only  righted  the  bin  again  and  packed  away  all  the  rubbish  that  he  had  emptied out  onto  the  granite  road  but  he’d  cleaned  all  the  other  pieces  up  too,  and  had  oh-so-neatly  arranged them  inside  the  bin  and  carefully  secured  the  lid  over  all  before  he  must  have  headed  on  his  way  to wherever  it  was that  he  was  going  to  with, what  most  people see  as  a  bagful  of  rubbish , but  to  him,  it  is his  bagful  of  hope.

It  made  me  feel  ashamed  to  think  that  I  had  thought  badly  of  an  unknown  and  openly  destitute  man who,  despite  having  nothing  more  in  the  world  left  to  lose  and  truthfully,  nothing  to  gain  by  doing  right either,  did  something  greater  than maybe half  the city  combined on that  particular  May  morning.

It  was  a  thankless  task  and  he’ll  never  know  that  there was  anyone  there  to  see  it…  but  I’m  grateful  to him  for  that  great,  big  act  of  goodness  and  for  the  simple  reminder  of  humanity’s  potential  in  spite  of all  the  odds.  For once, goodness  came begging  –  and left  the greatest  possible gift  behind  in  its wake.

image

Image Credit: Facebook

Leave a Reply

