Five Life-changing Minutes and a Simple Test

I  should  declare  before  I  write  anything  else  in  this  post  that  I  hate  doctors,  hospitals  and  medical procedures  in  general.  It’s  understandable…  I’ve  had  far  too  much  to  do  with  them  in  my  life  thus far. Not  personally  but  because  of loved  ones  and sometimes  the  occasional bouts  of sickness.

Last  month,  however,  I  was  basically  persuaded  (I  take  a  lot  of  persuading  when  I  don’t  want  to  do something…  I’m  more  obstinate  than  any  mule)  to  go  for  an  HIV  test  by  my  lecturer.  Okay,  so  he pretty  much managed to  get  the  entire  building to go and  get  tested but  I’m  harder  to convince…

You  see,  last  year,  when  our  university’s  special  HIV  health  staff  visited  our  Roeland  Campus,  I utterly  refused  to  be  ‘tested’.  I  lined  up  outside  the  room  with  my  friends,  listened  to  the  cheery German  assistant  outside  explain  about  the  effortless,  quick  testing  process  and  even  watched  as  she gave  some  safe-sex/(female)  condom  demonstrations  (sometimes  I  am  so  grateful  I’m  not  the  type of person to blush and run for cover  when  sex is  mentioned) but  I never  went  in.

I  know  that  you  don’t  necessarily  need  to  have  sex  to  contract  HIV  and  we’re  all  technically  at  risk of  it,  especially  in  a  country  like  South  Africa,  and  yes,  it  frightens  me  to  think  that  one  moment’s carelessness  can result  in  an  entirely  life-changing  scenario,  which  can  literally  almost  shatter your  world  but  well,  I  hate  anything  medical  and  what  the  hell…  I  couldn’t  possibly  have  anything. I’m  careful  and  responsible.  I  don’t  seem  particularly  unhealthy,  surely  I’d  know  if  I  had  something like  TB or HIV, right?

Here’s  the  thing  though…  people  always  say  that  about  cancer  too  but  sadly,  that  whole  “It’s something  that  happens  to  other  people  and  not  to  me”  thing  just  doesn’t  always  hold  true  for  all  of us.

So  maybe  I  was  putting  myself  at  risk,  not  getting  tested…  I’m  not  a  child  any  more  and  as  much  as I  like  to  think  I  can  avoid  clinics,  doctors  and  hospitals  all  my  life,  I  can’t.  There  are  some  things you  just  have  to face  when  you  hit  your teens  and most  especially,  your early  twenties.

image

I  reasoned  I  would  get  tested  with  my  future  spouse  someday…  but  what  if  I  never  get  married? What  if  I  contract  something  and  put  everyone  I’m  ever  with  at  risk?  What  if  I  am  seemingly healthy  on the  outside  but  there’s  some  sinister undercurrent  bubbling undetected  internally?

So maybe  that’s  why  I felt  like  a  coward for not  going again  this  year. Maybe  deciding  to become  an organ  donor  (another  thing  I  had  put  off  for  so  long  out  of  fear  and  possible  outside  judgement)  and realising  that  just  because  something  can  be  life-changing  and  a  little  daunting,  does  not  mean  we should   not  face  it  head  on, had changed my views somewhat.  Sometimes,  waiting  means  dooming  ourselves  (and  others)  to irreversible  consequences  and damning  our own odds  in  life.

This  year,  when  my  lecturer  practically  verbally  dragged  me  out  of  our  computer  lab  (probably because  he  knows  me  all  too  well  and  wasn’t  fooled  by  my  low  profile  and  stillness  whenever  he’d come  in  and  ask  who  hadn’t  yet  been  tested),  I  immediately  started  to  protest  outside. 

“Please,  I  don’t  want  to  get  tested…  I’m  fine,”  was  something  I  probably  uttered.  The  usual  excuse of ‘I’m  good’  that  translates  into:  “I’m  scared.”

He  turned  around  to  searchingly  look  at  me  and  after  a  moment’s  pause,  asked  outright:  “Why  don’t you  want  to get  tested?”

“Because  I don’t  want  them  asking me  all those questions  about  my sexual  history.  That’s  too personal.”

Sure,  okay,  I  don’t  blush  easily  but  that  doesn’t  mean  I  like  to  unpack  my  dirty  laundry  and  intimate personal  details  to  total  strangers  any  more  than  the  average  joe. 

I  know  they  see  and  hear everything  and  keep  it  purely  confidential  but  hey,  some  things  are  private  even  so  and  I  knew  it would  have  been  unreasonable  for me  to expect  them  to exempt  me  from  the  standard questions.

Ah,  the  truth  at  last…  There  was  no  lying  about  one  of  the  two  main  reasons  I  could actually bear  to  admit. He told me simply to tell them not to ask those then and I trailed after him down the passage to the testing room.

What  is  the  other  reason,  you  might  wonder?  It’s  a  foolish  and  childish  one  but  it  was  real  to  me… and  it  was  enough  to  hold  me  back.  I  was,  and  this  embarrasses  me  somewhat,  scared  of  the  result.

What  if  I had  been  so  confident  that  I  was  HIV-free  only to find  out,  in  fact,  that I actually  have  HIV?  How would  that  impact  on  my  young  life?  How  would  I  break  the  news  to  loved  ones  and  handle  the unnecessary  and senseless  stigma  that  still  permeates  throughout  global  society?

More  than  that  though,  I’m  extremely  paranoid  about  certain  things…  I  haven’t yet  pulled  my  act together  enough  to  donate  blood  because  I  am  scared  that  something  will  go  wrong  and  one  dirty needle  will  result  in  my  contracting  some  blood  disease  or  sickness. 

I  confess  that  I  argued  that, what  if  their  equipment  isn’t  clean?  What  if  they  accidentally  use  something  on  me  that  had  touched someone  who  had  already  tested  positive  and  it  infiltrates  my  bloodstream?  What  happens  if  I contract  HIV  through  testing?

There.  That  says  enough  of  my  paranoia  and  fear,  of  my  naivety  when  it  comes  to  things  like  this… and  that’s  what  I  realised  that  day:  we  can’t  truly  understand  or  disprove  something  if  we  don’t actively  take  the  plunge  ourselves.  No  matter  how  many  people  assured  me  it  was  entirely  safe  and completely  confidential,  I  didn’t  believe  them,  not  really.  I  had  to  face  it  myself  and  I  did  so  very reluctantly.

Even  as  I  waited  outside,  my  chin  set  stubbornly  as  I  continued  to  sulk  and  tried  not  to  wonder when  my   turn   would   come,   I   began   to   stage   another   protest. 

“How  can  it  be  private  if so many  people  go into that  small  room  at  once?”  I asked my  lecturer.

“There  are  tents  inside.  No one  will  be  able  to  see  or hear anything.”

That  silenced  me…  how  could  I  argue  with  that,  especially  as  just  at  that  moment,  I  was  called inside?

At  the  door,  the  outside  staff  greeted  me  and  reassuringly  pointed  out  my  personal  tent  to  me.  I disappeared  into  the  canvas  depths  and  sat  down  at  a  small  table,  across  from  a  lady  who  quietly and  warmly  welcomed  me  inside  before  she  stood  up  to  zip  the  tent  entrance  firmly  shut. 

I  couldn’t hear  a  thing  of  the  outside  from  in  there  really,  not  even  the  people  talking  loudly  in  the  corridor  so I knew  I was  foolish  to imagine  anyone  would ever hear  a  word of our hushed conversation.

As  soon  as  we  were  safely  sheltered  within,  she  handed  me  a  form  and  asked  me  to  fill  in  a  few basic  details. My  name  and surname,  my  address, my  course  and  date  of birth… I think.  I can’t  really even  remember,  if  I  am  honest.  At  that  point,  hell,  I  was  nervous.  I  didn’t  show  it  but  maybe  she could tell.

“Is  this  your first  time  being tested?”

“Here  we  go,”  I  thought  somewhat  waspishly  even  as  I  said  it  was.  “Here  come  the  questions… She’ll  shortly  know more  about  my  sex life  than I do.”

She  nodded  and  asked  if  I  had  any  HIV  knowledge.  I  said  I  did  and  she  left  it  there.  Phew,  okay,  not so bad, maybe  she  won’t  ask anything  else…

Nope,  there  they  were,  right  on  time:  the  questions  about  whether  I  had  any  TB  symptoms  and,  if  I remember right,  whether I had  engaged in  any  sexual  activity  in  the  last  three  months.

Regardless  of  my  answers,  I  knew  she  would  not  pass  judgement.  She  was  entirely  tactful  and  not the  type  to  fuss  or  pass  judgement  on  the  so-called  ‘youth  of  today’  like  everyone  else  over  thirty-five.  I  could  probably  have  sarcastically  joked  and  told  her  I  engaged  in  illegal  sexual  acts  and  she wouldn’t  have  batted an  eyelid.

There  was  something  really  reassuring  about  that…  the  only  other  time  anyone  had  tested  my  blood  for something  (my  iron  levels,  in  that  instance),  I  had  basically  been  interrogated  and  asked  none-too-subtly  if I wasn’t  maybe  pregnant  because  my symptoms  could  indicate  that.

Needless  to  say,  I  was  nineteen  and  not too impressed  by  that…  especially  not  when  the  medical practitioner  then  made  some  comment  about  my  weight  and  asked  if  I  had  been  ‘fat’  (because overweight  isn’t  satisfactory,  right?)  in  the  past.  Seriously?  Who  does  that?  You  just  accused  me  of being  pregnant  and  formerly  fat  in  the  space  of  two  sentences…  Small  wonder  I  blatantly  refused  to go near a  doctor or nurse  for three  years  after  that,  much to  my  parents’  angst.

This  is  something  that  not  all  medical  professionals  seem  to  ‘get’  but  it  is  important  to  be  accepted, not  judged  when  you  undergo  embarrassing  or  scary  medical  tests  and  this  was  no  different. Naturally,  I relaxed  quite  considerably  after  that.

“How  long  will  I  need  to  wait  to  know  my  status?”  I  asked,  trying  to  sound  brave  and  untroubled, even though  I was  too  distracted  to hear  her answer and asked her  the  same  question twice.

“In about  five  minutes  you  will  know  your result.”

Wow. Five  minutes and  one  tiny  (okay,  not  so  tiny, it  pinched me  like  hell)  prick  with  a  device – known  as  a ‘lancet’ – and  a  small  absorption  of  my  blood  into  the  micro  pipette  (I  did  have  to  google  all  this  stuff afterwards) onto  a  tiny  ‘space’  – and I would know  my  fate.

image

As  I  watched  her  gloved  hands  carefully  open  a  new  needle,  which  she  prepped,  and  testing  device (which  I  believe  is  called  a  ‘cassette’), I wondered  how  much  my  life  could  change  in  five  brief (but  agonising) minutes…  quite  significantly,  when  you  think  about  it,  really.  I  tried  not  to,  my  false bravado abandoning me.

Passing  my  right  hand  over,  I  watched  her  squash  my  index  fingertip  and  carefully  suck  up  just enough  ruby  red  blood  to  place  onto  the  cassette.  (I  have  no  fear  of  looking  at  my  own  blood  but  I apologise  for the  more  squeamish among  you  reading  this.)

Perhaps  to  allay  my  fears  and  pass  the  time,  she  explained  how  it  works,  indicating  the  ‘space’, which  has  a  kind  of  meter  on  it  as  I  pressed  a  thick  clump  of  fluffy  cotton  wool  against  my bleeding finger.

She  told  me  how,  if  it  didn’t  change  colour  and  climb  upwards  to  a  certain  point,  which  she  marked out  with  a  pen,  I  would  know  something  was  amiss.  If  it  went  well  above,  I  was  in  the  clear.  For now.

Though,  rightly,  everyone  should  be  tested  at  least  once  a  year  –  every three  to  six  months  if  you  are engaging  in  unsafe  sex  etc.  –  to  be  safe  all  the  same,  as  she  told  me.  CDC  recommends  that everyone  between  the  age  of  thirteen  and  sixty-four  get  tested  at  least  once,  with  more  high-risk groups  being advised  to get  tested more  often.

image

Then,  the  moment  of  truth,  she  showed  me  my  result  and  I  got  up  and  left.  It  doesn’t  matter  about the  result,  which  I  naturally  cannot  divulge…  it  simply  matters  that  I  went.  It  matters  that  I  left  that room  either  with  a  greater  peace  of  mind  or  else  with  the  necessary  information  and  sources  to tackle  my  status. 

Either  way,  I  could  leave  there  more  fully  equipped  to  face  my  future  in  a  better and  safer  way,  both  for myself  and  others.  That  carries  a  lot  of  weight…  really  it  does.  It’s  something you  can only  understand and value  when you  have  personally  been tested.

That,  if  anything,  is  why  I  will  now  encourage  everyone  to  go and  get  tested  at  least  once  annually… It  doesn’t  matter  about  your  age  or  your  background,  your  sexual  history  or  pointed  lack  thereof…  it matters  that  you  get  tested and  know  your status.  That  is  all  that  matters  at  the  end  of the  day.

I didn’t  get  one  of the  free  ‘goodie  bags’  (with  safe  sex pamphlets  and free  condom  packs…  which  is  a pity,  because  I  really  needed  those  fruity,  flavoured  condoms  in  my  life.  🙂  )  but  I  got  to  conquer another  human  fear  and  in  so  doing,  learned  more  about  my  personal  health  and  trust  me,  those  are two very  good reasons  to get  tested  if you  need any!

For  the  next  week,  the  blue  bruising  (which  hurt  every  time  I’d  accidentally  knock  or  touch  it)  and later,  the  tiny  pinprick  hole  that  adorned  my  right  index  finger  was  a  reminder,  a  sobering  one  at that,  that  I  was  no  longer  a  careless  bystander  in  my  adult  life,  but  rather  someone  who  cared enough about  myself and others  to know  my  status  and  lead a  more  proactive  life  as  a  result.

image

I  am  so  grateful  that  I  went  now  and  I’m  especially  grateful  to  my  lecturer  and  the  kind,  thoughtful staff  who  encouraged  me  to  get  tested…  and  next  time  they  visit  our  campus,  I’ll  line  up  and  go  all over again.

I  hope  that  you  will  too…  it’s  something  we,  each  and  every  one  of  us,  should  do.  For  more  expert information and  HIV/AIDS  tips, please  click here.

Thanks to http://www.aids.gov for the additional information and to Google Images for the additional photos used in this post.

[For  personal  reasons,  I  have  tried  to  be  as  anonymous  and  respectful  as  possible  and  whilst  I  have tried  to  impart  accurate  information  and  facts  from  memory  and  online  research  where  possible,  I have  nevertheless  written  this  in  my  usual  ‘voice’  and  it  is  only  loosely  medical  –  as  such,  there  may be  minor  errors. 

Please  note :  All  opinions,  views  and  sentiments  expressed  herein  are  entirely  my own and  in no way  reflect  upon any  other person or institution.  Thank you.]

Posted from WordPress for Android by T.A.Ryan

Leave a Reply

