Two Names I Wish I Had Never Heard: Franziska Blochlinger and Anene Booysen

Franziska Blochlinger and Anene  Booysen…  those  are  two  names  I  wish  I  had  never  learned.  They were  two South  African girls  I should  never have  been acquainted  with in  any  way  or sense. 

I wish I had  never  had  to  see  their  names  splashed  across  every  possible  local  news  platform.  I  wish  I  had never seen Anene’s ID photo printed in the daily newspaper or watched Franziska’s  parents  break down in an online video.

Yet,  I  did.  I  can’t  erase  their  names  or  faces  from  my  memory  or  my  thoughts.  I  hate  that  I  can  call them  to  mind  just  as  easily  as  I can  the  faces  of  my  loved  ones  and  that  every  time  I hear  mention  of them  now,  I  go  cold  and  something  dies  a  little  inside  of  me.  I  can’t  forget  their  names  any  more than  I  can  unlearn  the  cold,  hard  facts,  which  recount  the  inhumane  torment  that  these  two  young girls  suffered  at  the  hands  of utter  monsters.

I  wish  I  had  never  unearthed  the  latest  gory  details  surrounding  their  deaths  and  rapes  on  social media- and news-channels. I wish I didn’t know that Franziska  was  due  to  embark  on  a  travel experience  to  Switzerland  that  could  have  changed  her  life  or  that  Anene  grew  up  in  the  small, coastal  town (Bredasdorp)  so close  to my  favourite  holiday  spot.

I  wish  Anene  had  not  been  brutalised  a  day  after  my  19th  birthday  on  February  2nd,  2013.  I  had passed  through  her  hometown  barely  twenty-four  hours  before  she  suffered  grievous  bodily, emotional  and mental  wounds.

I wish, too, that Franziska  hadn’t  gone  for  a  jog  in  the  Tokai  forest  on  that  fateful  afternoon  and  that such  an  atrocity  had  not  occurred  in  the  heart  of  my  favourite  Cape  Town  suburb  and  truthfully,  the area  I  would  most  love  to  live  and  raise  a  family  in  someday.  I  wish  so  much  had  not  happened  but it  has.

image

Exactly three days before Franziska’s   death  on  Monday,  March  7th,  I  trekked  to  the  Signal  Hill Noonday  Cannon. I made  my way  up solitary  city  streets, on  that  unsuspecting Friday  morning alone.

There  weren’t  many  people  around,  not  even  when  I  passed  through  the  Bo-Kaap  suburb  and  the truth  is,  even  though  I felt  safe, in  the  back  of  my  mind  a  small  voice  kept  saying,  “You  shouldn’t  be walking  here  alone. It’s  too quiet. It’s  too deserted…  It’s  too  risky.”

A few  blocks  on,  when  I  stopped  to  ask  a  lady  for  directions  to  the  cannon,  her  male  friend  told  me to  head  back  down  into  the  city  and  make  my  way  up  from  there.

Then, he  almost  reluctantly admitted  that  I  could,  in  actual  fact,  just  as  easily  keep  going  straight  because  there  were  two routes,  though  he  carefully  added  that,  “it  isn’t  safe  for  someone  walking  alone.”  I  saw  his hesitation  so  I  knew  what  he  meant  there  and  I  understood  that  his  words  really  translated  into:  “It’s not  safe  for a  woman  to be  walking  alone.”

As  I  drew  closer  to  the  cannon  and  walked  past  a  dense  gum  tree  forest  on  Signal  Hill’s  lower  slope, with  scarcely  another  human  being  in  sight  and  only  the  occasional  sound  of  halting  bird  calls  to break  the  silence,  I  knew  I  had  made  a  mistake.  I  glanced  around  me  and  thought,  “Sh**,  you’re being  way  too  careless  here,  Tamlyn.  You’re  a  South  African  woman  and  you  ought  to  know  better by  now!”

Further  on,  just  past  the  Signal  Hill  Lodge,  a  man  stopped  his  bakkie  alongside  me  and  my  hackles immediately  went  up  when  he  greeted me.

I  knew  he  wasn’t  about  to  ask  me  the  time  or  for directions  and  I  was  scared,  I  have  no  qualms  about  admitting  it.  He  told  me  that  I  could  walk  but it’s  a  long  way  and he  was  going up there  anyway,  as  he  works  near the  cannon.

Even  as  alarm  bells  were  going  off  in  my  head  and  I  cautiously  said  hello  and  eyed  his  vehicle  with faint  mistrust,  I saw  a  child  standing  alongside  him  on  the  passenger’s  seat.  A  baby  girl,  maybe  three years  old  at  most.  She  was  leaning  against  him  and  I  realised  that  he  must  be  her  father.

Additionally,  he  appeared  to  be  wearing  a  uniform  so  I  suppose  I  was  more  trusting  of  him  than  I would ordinarily  have  been.

I  would  not usually  under  any  circumstances  get  into  a  stranger’s  car  –  least  of  all  a  man’s  –  but something  told  me  it  was  okay  to  trust  him  and,  when  I  got  in  alongside  them,  he  said  to  me,  “I stopped  because  it’s  not  always  safe  to walk here  alone,  you  know.”

Yeah, I sure did know. I knew about the muggings and had indeed read about the  gang rape  of  a  foreign  student (while  her  boyfriend  watched  on  in  horror) atop  Signal  Hill  late  one  night  some  years  past  now.

I also  know  that  people  have  been  attacked  and  murdered  (or  worse)  all  over  the  city  in  recent  years and  there  is  nothing  that  makes  them  any  different  to  me…  those  things  might  have  and  still  could happen  to me.  I  know  that, please  don’t  think  I don’t.

image

Maybe  that  is  why  I’d  silently  uttered  a  prayer  of  safety  only  moments  before  that  bakkie  stopped next  to  me  and  a  kind  man  and  concerned  father/city  worker  gave  me  a  lift  up  to  the  Noonday Cannon.

Perhaps  his  arrival  was  in  direct  answer  to  my  prayer…  and  yes,  I  do  believe  in  that  sort  of  thing,  as much  as  I  believe,  too,  that  we  are  each,  nevertheless,  personally  responsible  for  our  own  well-being  and  safety  to  a  certain  degree  and  that,  if  something  had  happened  to  me  that  day,  I  would only  have  had myself  to blame  for it. Our choices  define  our lives, after  all.

I  thanked  him  repeatedly  because  honestly,  I  was  grateful.  I  was  taking  a  chance  but  let’s  face  it, sometimes  I  have  to  get  around  and  I  don’t  have  a  personal  chauffeur  (or  a  car  yet  for  that  matter) and  taking  public  transport  isn’t  always  a  solution  so  I  often  have  no  choice  but  to  walk  the  city alone. 

I’m  a  travel  writer  and  a  passionate  ‘outdoor  person’  so  to  expect  me  to  stay  cooped  up  inside 24/7,  even on weekends, is  completely  unrealistic  and almost  intolerable  to  me.

Last  year,  I  started  hiking  popular  trails  like  Platteklip  Gorge  and  Lion’s  Head  on  my  own.  Sure,  I was  cautious  and  I  timed  my  hikes  carefully  so  that,  even  on  weekends  (which  are  famously  quiet here  in  the  CBD,  as  the  Mother  City  literally  turns  into  a  ghost  town),  I  was  outdoors  when  the hiking  trails  would  be  most  frequented  or  when  they  would  at  least  have  enough  people  on  them  for me  to feel  safe  enough.

However,  I  know  that’s  no  guarantee  of  safety  in  this  day  and  age  because  truthfully,  people  are  too afraid  to  get  involved  and  intervene  when  someone  is  being  threatened,  robbed  or  attacked. 

We’ll call  the  police  or  emergency  services  and  maybe  even  console  them  after  the  attackers  or  thieves have  fled,  but  we  will  not  necessarily  come  to  their  rescue.  Our  own  lives  matter  too,  and  we  all have  to  look  out  for  ourselves,  do  we  not? 

You  can’t  trust  anyone  you  do  not  know  well  and  in  some instances, you cannot even trust those people. (Look  at  Anene’s  murder  and  rape  if  you  need evidence  to support  this.)

Still,  being  surrounded  by  a  crowd  of  people  or  walking  in  a  group  (even  if  they  are  total  strangers) does  place  a  kind  of  safety  blanket  over  it  all,  right?  This  false  sense  of  security  shows  our  naivety  but  it  also  shows  our natural  inclination  towards  trusting those  around us.

For  –  and  I  have  said  this  before  and  I  will  say  it  again  –  humans  were  not  created  to  be  mistrustful or  suspicious  by  default  –  but  sadly,  over  time,  humanity  as  a  whole  has  ensured  that  we  can  afford to  be  nothing  if not  a  little  paranoid, overcautious  and  guarded 99.9% of the  time.

Back  to  my  hiking  and  general  solitary  city  walks  though…  As  a  young  South  African  woman,  I know  there  are  risks  involved  every  time  I  step  out  my  front  door. 

I  know  that  every  cursory  glance from  a  man  on  the  street  and  every  vehicle  driving  alongside  me  is  a  possible  threat  to  my  safety, my  womanhood  and  above  all,  my  life  –  the  most  sacred  of  all  things. 

I  know  that  doing  things  on my  own  isn’t  just  some  way  of  touting  ‘female  independence’  but  of  testing  my  personal  bravery, each and every  time.

Men  cannot  possibly  understand  the  fear  that  we,  as  women,  live  with  on  a  daily  basis.  I  am  not implying  that  men  are  not  raped,  attacked  or  murdered  because  I  know  all  too  well  that  they  are  but in  South  Africa,  and  indeed  any  country  in  the  world,  as  a  woman,  there  is  somehow  more  at  stake.

There  are  more  predatory  eyes  on  you,  more  things  you  can  do  alone  but  that,  all  the  same,  you know  you  shouldn’t, more  limitations  and niggling  doubts  than  any  man can  possibly  imagine.

I  have  been  with  trustworthy  men  when  I’ve  been  scared  or  have  felt  threatened  or  mildly  unsafe and,  even  though  I  know  these  are  good  men,  who  would  do  virtually  anything  necessary  to  protect or  keep  me  safe  (if  it  was  in  their  power  to  do  so),  nothing  they  say  or  do  can  ever  completely  take away  my harboured fears.

I  don’t  think,  “If  we  get  mugged  or  attacked,  we’ll  both  be  in  big  trouble.”  I  think:  “If  anyone  comes to  threaten  or  harm  us,  they  will  either  attack  or  mug  him  and  they  will  rape  me.”  I  actually  think that  and I have  done  so on a  few  occasions  now.

image

Once,  last  year,  I  voiced  this  very  real  and  dreadful  thought  aloud  to  a  guy  friend  and  even  though he  instantly  and  protectively  drew  me  closer  to  him  and  assured  me  that  he  wouldn’t  let  anyone harm  either  of  us,  I  knew  that  he  would  be  powerless  to  stop  it  if  it  came  to  that  –  and  what’s  more, when I mentioned  what  would happen to  me, as  a  woman, he  didn’t  try  to deny  it.

Instead,  he  looked visibly  worried  too  then,  and  I  knew  he  had  also  just  recognised  the  very  real  fear  lurking  in  the back  of both our minds.

Terrible  things,  like  rapes  and  killings,  can  happen  to  anyone,  at  any  time  and  the  sick  bastards behind  such  utterly  inconceivable  acts  of  cruelty  and  cowardice  do  not  discriminate  against  gender, age,  skin  colour/race, religion  or nationality.

The  perpetrators  don’t  care  about  your  fellow  humanness  or  your  strengths  and  frailties.  They  are not  concerned  about  or  affected  by  your  pleas  for  mercy  or  the  shrillness  of  your  screams. 

They aren’t  bothered  about  your  future  plans  or  everyone  who  will  mourn  your  loss  of  life,  any  more  than they  are  to  be  overpowered, unsettled  or scared  off by  your  struggles  or protests.

Nothing  that  affects  any  other  remotely  good  human  being  will  have  even  the  faintest  effect  on these  unspeakably  evil  and  unforgivably  twisted  beings. 

Nothing  and  no  one  is  sacred  and  precious to  them  and  it  doesn’t  matter  one  bit  whether  you  are  an  acquaintance,  a  lover,  a  friend  or  a  total stranger… if  they  mean  to hurt  or annihilate  you,  they  will.

Last   Tuesday,  when  I  first  stumbled  across   EWN‘s  developing  string  of  Tweets  relating  to Franziske’s  death,  a  chill  ran  through  my  body  and  I  couldn’t  help  but  think:  “Four  days  ago,  this could  just  as  easily  have  been  about  me.”

So  what  does  that  mean  for  us  as  people  (women  especially)  in  South  Africa  and  the  world  at  large?

Does this mean that after  Franziska’s  death – and all  the  appalling accounts  and heartbreaking details that  have  arisen  since  her  life  was  so  tragically  destroyed  in  every  possible  way  –  that  we  should never  again  jog  in  the  Tokai  Forest  or  hike  up  Platteklip  Gorge  on  our  own?  Does  it  mean  that  we must  needs  travel  ‘in packs’  or stay  only  where  there  is  obvious  security?

Are  we  to  hide  away  in  fear  for  the  rest  of  our  lives  because  crime  is  on  the  rise  and  the  world  is inhabited  by  far  too  many  revolting,  twisted  or  cruel  people  for  us  to  even  comprehend,  let  alone possibly  risk facing or encountering?

My  answer  is  simple  but  in  no  way  ‘reassuring’  –  and  it  is  this:  if  we  do  any  or  all  of  the  above,  then Franziska’s  horrific  death  has  been  almost  entirely  in  vain  and  Anene’s  brief  life,  in  turn,  has  been rendered pointless, as  have  the  lives  and subsequent  deaths  of every  victim  who came  before  them.

Their  attacks  are  reminders  to  us  all  that  no  one  is  safe  but  personally  (and  I  am  taking  great  liberty in  saying  this  now,  so  I  hope  I  am  not  causing  offence  or  outrage),  I  don’t  believe  either  of  those girls  would  wish  for  anyone  to  hide  away  in  fear,  never  set  foot  outside  again  or  run  even  the slightest  risk of encountering  danger again.

I  think  they  both  knew  enough  about  life  to  know  that  it  is  short  and  that  people  cannot  always  be trusted,  that  humans  hurt  others  just  for  the  sake  of  having  something  to  do  and  that  life  is  sacred  to some,  but  never to  all.

Yes,  perhaps  they  would  caution  us,  and  maybe  they  would  never  have  gone  out  if  they  had  known what  would  happen to them  as  a  result.

Maybe  then,  none  of this  would ever  have  happened and we, as  a  nation, would never  have  been  scarred and  deeply  affected  by  their horrific  rapes  and killlings… we  would have  remained blissfully  ignorant  and we’d still  feel  relatively,  well, safe.

Though the fact is that these things did happen and all we can hope is that – as Franziska’s  father essentially  said  recently  –  this  will  not  happen  to  anyone’s  child,  partner  or  parent  going  forwards.

And  even  though  we  know  in  the  deepest  part  of  our  hearts  that  it  possibly  will,  their  deaths  have taught  us  one  thing:  for  every  criminal  out  there,  there  are  millions  of  good  people  who  will  always be  around  to  condemn  such heinous  acts  of  violence  or be  emotionally  ripped  apart  and  shattered  by stories  such  as  these  along  with  the  victims’  loved  ones,  and  that  we  will  never  allow  evil  to  prevail. We’ve  come  too far as  a  nation  and as  a  world to surrender to  it  now.

The  unbearable  things  that  happened  to  these  two  girls,  could  just  as  easily have  happened  to  you  or me  and  what’s  worse  is  that  they  happen  to  so  many  other  seemingly  faceless  and  nameless  people every  day  across  the  globe…

Certainly,  fate  has  allowed  these  two  particular  local  stories  to  be  told,  but  what  about  all  the  stories that are not told or revealed to the public? There are so many Franziskas  and  Anenes  out  there…  and already  one  is  one  too many.  Enough is  enough.

image

To Franziska  and  Anene,  I  truly  wish  that  I  had  never  heard  your  names,  for  maybe  then  it  might have  meant  that  you  could  have  both  known  goodness  and  happiness  in  your  young  lives. 

I  wish, too,  that  you  could  have  both  grown  up  and  lived  to  be  old  and  yet,  never  once  have  had  the  media report  on  anything  remotely  connected  to  either  you  or  your  now-heartbroken  families  –  but  I  have heard  your  names  and  now  I, for one, will  never  forget  either of them  for as  long  as  I live.

May you, and indeed Sinoxolo Mafevuka (raped and murdered in Khayelitsha on March 2nd), rest in peace.

Many thanks to EWN for the additional info. and to Liz Curtis Higgs’s Here Burns My Candle novel for the photos of quotes used in the above post.

[Please Note: All opinions, views and sentiments expressed herein are entirely my own and in no way reflect upon any other person or institution other than myself. Additionally, I have personally endeavoured to treat this piece with as much respect for the victims and their families as possible. Thank you.]

Posted from WordPress for Android by T.A.Ryan

Leave a Reply

