Singlehood: It’s a Life Sentence, Not a Death Sentence

There  was  once  a  time  when  I  used  to  think  that  my  being  single  meant  I  was  failing  in  life.  When  I  hit  about sixteen,  suddenly  being  alone  seemed  to  automatically  imply,  both  to  myself  and  to  others,  that  I  was  lonely. I  wasn’t,  really,  but  that  was  probably  the  first  time  I  started  to  want  more  from  my  life,  that  I  discovered  an ‘ultra-crush’  and  thought,  “I  really,  really,  really   like  you,”  Carly-Rae  Jepsen-style. 

I  started  wistfully dreaming  about  finding  a  hand  to  hold  or  even  just  someone  to  do  stupid  or  vaguely  inappropriate  things with.  You  know,  someone  to  love,  share  all  my  secrets  with,  confess  my  fears  to  and  bounce  my  thoughts  off when  they  get  too  much  to  contain  within  the  fragile  confines  of  my  own  mind.  I  guess  I  was  in  search  of someone  to  call  my  own  and  know  better  than  I  would  ever  hope  to  know  myself.

It  was  your  typical  teenage  love/angst  scenario,  born  of  years  of  being  spoon-fed  romantic  notions.  As  a  girl, this  all  started  when  I  was  old  enough  to  comprehend  what  a  passionate  kiss  and  happily  ever  after  between  a Disney  princess  and  prince  was  really  all  about. 

image

Pop  culture  –  and  in  truth,  modern  society  –  had indoctrinated  me  into  believing  that,  when  I  was  old  enough,  my  prince  would  come  or  I,  the  quintessential damsel-in-distress,  would  stumble  into  the  arms  of  a  knight  in  shining  armour  and  ride  off  into  the  sunset… Well,  that  never  quite  happened.  (I’m  twenty-two  and  still  waiting,  Prince  Charming…  so  what  happened, honey,  did  you  get  lost  along  the  way?)

Why?  Oh,  well,  there  are  lots  of  personal  reasons  but  mainly  it’s  because,  at  some  point,  I  quite subconsciously  realised  I  didn’t  need  a  man  to  save  me  (I  am  woman,  hear  me  roar)  and  secondly,  because chivalrous  knights  are  in  rather  short  supply  these  days  –  but  it’s  down  to  so  much  more  than  that.

Every  time  I  would  get  close  to  a  potential  something,  as  you  might  call  it,  I  would  sabotage  it  unintentionally  (and thanks  largely  to  my  insecurities)  but  I  finally  admitted  to  myself  that  hey,  maybe  I  actually wasn’t  quite  ready  to  have  my  heart  invaded  or  to  go  through  all  those  giddy  emotions  with  someone  and then  watch  it  fall  apart  in  a  week,  a  month  or  year’s  time.  I  wasn’t  ready  to  be  left  with  a  list  of  exes  and  ohs and  relationship  regrets.

Today,  I’m  glad  I  don’t  have  to  pretend  to  be  bitter  and  venomous  about  my  so-called  ‘ex’…  It’s  not  because my  ex  was  a  good  or  a  bad  person  (though  isn’t  it  funny  how  we  can  like  or  even  love  someone  while  we  are with  them  but  then,  once  we  break  up,  they  suddenly  become  the  devil  reincarnated,  wouldn’t  you  know?) but  rather  because  well,  he  doesn’t  exist  and  I  hope  he  never  does.

I  hope  all  this  waiting  will  someday  mean  that,  when  I  do  finally  find  someone  (who  actually  reciprocates my  feelings),  it’ll  be  “together  to  the  end”,  with  lots  of  teasing  laughter,  crazy  emotion  and  I-won’t-give-on-us  moments  in  between.  After  all,  I’m  a  one-track  kinda  girl,  looking  for  my  two-ply.  (Thanks,  Train… your  songs  have  and  always  will  be  the  soundtrack  to  all  my  romantic  endeavours.)

I  am  really  thankful  that  I  have  never  had  to  break  up  with  someone,  as  I  think  it  must  be  awful  and truthfully,  I’d  hate  to  break  someone’s  heart  or  feel  ‘compelled’  to  be  bitter  and  resentful  towards  someone who  once  might  have  been  my  ‘everything’…  but  then  again,  I’m  a  naturally  forgiving  and  loving  person  so  I don’t  think  hating  The-One-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named  (I  mean,  isn’t  that  always  how  one’s  friends  seem  to refer  to  the  guy/girl  after  any  rollercoaster  break-up  and  subsequent  tequila  tears?)  will  ever  be  my  last resort.

That’s  not  to  say  I  haven’t  had  my  heart  broken  but  well,  I’ve  kept  it  as  safe  as  can  be…  I  think  I  have  only really  and  truly  fallen  in  love  once  and  I  made  such  a  mess  of  it  that  I  am  in  no  real  hurry  to  do  a  repeat  –  but the  niggling  fact  remains  that  yes,  I  do  still  experience  that  familiar,  dull  pang  known  to  single  people  the world  over  when  I  walk  past  a  young  couple  who  look  madly  in  love.

I  often  want  to  gag  when  I  see  lovers  stealing  stolen  kisses  (can’t  we  just  outlaw  public  gestures  of  affection already;  have  a  heart  for  single  or  broken-hearted  people  everywhere)  and  though  I  generally  pretend  it doesn’t  bother  me  (and  most  of  the  time,  it  honestly  doesn’t)  –  occasionally,  it  does  sadden  or  annoy  me.  I  am only  human  after  all.

That  said,  I  also  see  more  and  more  couples  fighting  or  arguing  in  public,  looking  downright  miserable  and hear  of  terrible  break-ups  and  when  this  happens,  I  mentally  raise  my  hands  to  the  heavens  and  silently  give thanks  or  think:  “I’m  good  single,  Lord.  I’m  good!  Hold  fire  with  my  future  someone,  please!”

image

Last  night,  something  happened  outside  my  sheltered  single  world  that  really  unsettled  me.  I  saw  a  couple fighting…  badly.  It’s  that  kind  of  scary  domestic  row,  which  builds  and  builds  into  something  really  nasty  and,  as  a  helpless  bystander,  you  think  love  could  never  possibly  have  existed  there  because  love  is  kind,  gentle and  uplifting,  it  soothes  and  comforts  and,  though  it  sees  another’s  imperfections,  it  chooses  to  love  them  as if  they  were,  in  fact,  perfections  (or  at  least  vaguely  cute  or  lovable  pet-hates  ;)).

Yet that  was  not  what  filled me  with  horror  –  it  was  the  fact  that,  although  I  didn’t  want  to  listen,  look  or  get  involved,  it  was  all  so  loud and  hateful  that  I  was  petrified  I’d  end  up  having  to  ring  the  police  to  (please)  come  and  separate  these  poor people  from  one  another.

I  wasn’t  terrified  because  of  the  violent  nature  of  the  dispute  (though  that  still  shook  me)  but  rather  because of  the  anger,  the  brokenness  and  blatant  hatred  spewing  forth  between  them,  creating  a  distance  that  no amount  of  apology,  love  or  ‘kiss-and-make-up’  mentality  will  ever  truly  bridge.  That  is  a  truly  tainted  love and  it  is  very  rarely  salvageable.

With  much  swearing,  arm  tugging  and  slamming  of  doors,  they  vanished  back  into  the  night  and  I  tried  to pretend  that  I  wasn’t  rattled  to  my  core  –  but  since  I  am  really  shoddy  at  playing  pretend  and  usually  my emotions  are  more  obvious  and  perceptible  than  I  would  best  like,  I  must  confess  I  failed  to  even  do  that.

Still…  it  made  me  reflect  once  again  on  the  notion  that  just  because  you  are  with  someone,  the  world  is  not suddenly  a  better  place  and  sadly,  sometimes  people  really  are  better  off  on  their  own…  My  heart  breaks  for that  couple  because  I  know  it  must  be  terrible  to  be  together  and  feel  so  utterly  alone.

So  yes,  sometimes  I  get  a  little  lonely  but  I’m  not  alone  in  this  great,  big  world,  not  by  a  long  shot.  I  have friends  and  loved  ones  who  blow  my  mind  with  their  awesome  ways  and  who  willingly  partake  in  my adventures.

Okay,  so  maybe  I  don’t  have  cuddle  sessions  on  the  couch  on  Saturday  nights and  binge-watch  Game  of Thrones  or  Poldark (though  I  have  a  giant  fluffy  dragon  and  he  takes  up  half  my  bed  anyway)  but  I  now know  that  I  have  a  life  that  is  as  happy  and  full  as  I  decide  to  make  it  and,  although  sometimes  I  think  I  might be  missing  someone  I  might  not  even  know  yet,  the  fact  of  the  matter  remains  that  ‘singledom’  has  a  far worse  ‘rep.’  than  it  deserves.  It’s  painted  as  this  dreadful  time  in  our  teen  or  adult  lives  when,  in  fact,  it  is actually  sometimes  a  far  happier  time  than  our  dating  or  married  lives  will  be.

Now,  that  is  not  to  say  that  you  can’t  have  your  cake  and  eat  it  when  it  comes  to  romantic  relationships  but maybe  it’s  time  for  us  to  realise  that  being  single  does  not  make  us  superfluous  as  people,  nor  does  it  mean that  you  are  inferior  to  all  your  friends  who  are  getting  engaged,  married  or  pregnant  left,  right  and  centre…  it simply  means  that  it  hasn’t  happened  for  you  yet  or  that  you  get  to  take  a  breather  before  you  dive  back  into the  often-treacherous  waters  of  modern-day  dating  and  love  in  your  teens,  twenties,  thirties  and  even  beyond.

Towards  the  latter  part  of  2015,  I  realised  that,  instead  of  pining  at  home  on  weekends  and  wishing  I  had someone  to  take  me  on  a  Sunday  (ocean)  drive  or  for  an  impromptu  picnic  in  the  park,  I  could  go  out  and  do things  on  my  own  (shock,  gasp,  horror,  right?)  and  still  have  a  blast.

I  started  hiking  and  exploring  my  city  or  reading  and  binge-watching  series  anyway,  doing  the  things  that made  me  happiest  and  when  I  did  that,  when  I  stopped  feeling  like  I  needed  someone  to  make  me  more complete  (because  Heaven  knows,  I  do  not  need  someone  to  complete  me…  To  fulfill  or  better  me,  perhaps, but  not  to  complete  me.  That’s  utter  bull…  we  are  already  complete,  functioning  individuals  and  no  one person  is  going  to  alter  your  wholeness),  I  started  to  realise  I  had  precisely  what  I  needed  during  that  point  of my  life  and,  though  I  will  always  personally  believe  in  soul  mates  and  lasting  love,  I  can’t  help  but  feel  that we  are  as  self-fulfilled  as  we  set  our  minds  to  be.

I  mean,  say  we  do  find  that  perfect,  elusive  relationship,  shouldn’t  we  accept  that  we  might  end  up  with someone  who  shares  none  of  our  favourite  pastimes,  although  they  are  a  good  fit  for  us…  so  what  are  we going  to  do?  Give  up  everything  we  enjoy  just  to  be  more  like  them  or  can  we  instead  learn  to  do  new  things with  someone  and  allow  for  that  most  necessary  little  give-and-take?

Will  you  give  up  on  your  personal  goals  and  future  dreams  in  order  to  be  a  stay-at-home  dad  purely  because your  wife  wants  to  ascend  the  corporate  ladder  in  stilettos?  I  hope  not  –  at  least,  do  it  but  don’t  do  it  unless  it is  something  you  are  both  content  with.

Because,  if  a  person  doesn’t  help  you  to  reach  your  goals  or  to  seize  fast  to  your  dreams,  then  they  do  not have  your  (or  the  relationship’s)  best  interests  at  heart…  they  are  only  thinking  of  themselves  and  when  that happens,  you’re  honestly  better  off  on  your  own  because  no  love  is  actually  better  than  a  selfish  ‘love’.

image

I would  love  to  learn  more  about  another  career  if  that’s  what  my  potential  love  interest  is  into  but  it  doesn’t mean  that  I  am  going  to  drop  my  career  like  a  hot  cake  and  change  myself  just  so  that  I  can  do  and  be everything  he  favours  as  a  person.

If  he’s  not  into  sport,  tough  luck  because  I  am  and  I  won’t  stop  watching  football  or  being  crazy  about  cricket simply  because  he  prefers  rugby  or  maybe  doesn’t  even  like  sport  at  all.  I  won’t  give  up  my  mix  of  music  just because  he’s  only  into  jazz  or  heavy  metal…  We  should  not  change  to  fit  someone’s  ideal  world,  nor  should we  try  to  change them.

Love  isn’t  about  renovating  that  quaint,  run-down cottage  –  it’s  about  restoring  it  and  accepting  what  existed there  long  before  you  moved  your  baggage  in.  It  is  about  helping  it  to  become  something  even  more beautiful.  I  hope  we  will  all  change  for  the  people  we  love  but  I  also  hope  that  it  will  be  a  natural,  freeing transformation  rather  than  something  we  get  strong-armed  into.

This  brings  me  to  my  next  point:  ‘singlehood’  is  actually  the  best  and  only  real  opportunity  you  will  have  to become  a  better,  well-rounded  person  or  to  improve  on  the  things  that  you  (or  maybe  even  someone  who cares  for  you)  feel  leaves  something  to  be  desired.  I’m  not  talking  about  looks  here,  rather  about  your  inner character  –  but  it  is  also  fun  to  experiment  with  your  wardrobe,  personal  tastes  and  even  hairstyles  when  you are  single  because  there’s  no  one  to  tell  you  what  to  wear  or  do.

There’s  no  one  to  look  good  for  and  try  impress  other  than  yourself  and  trust  me,  that  is  actually  extremely liberating.  As  much  as  you  will  love  trying  to  look  good  for  someone  else  (and  you  should),  you  will  never feel  quite  as  amazing  as  you  will  when  you  dress  nicely  just  so  you  can  feel  good  about  yourself  or  even  for the  hell  of  it.  (And  yes,  we  perennially  single  people  actually  do  this.)

Most  importantly  though,  it  is  so  wonderful  to  realise  that  just  because  you  are  alone,  does  not  mean  you  are lonely  and  that  being  single  is  a  licence  to  live,  love  and  learn  more  about  yourself  and  the  world  you  occupy more  than  any  other  stage  of  your  teenage  or  adult  life  because,  when  you  are  with  someone,  you  do  things together,  your  worlds  becomes  intertwined  and  there’s  so  much  more  to  worry  about  and  juggle…  being single,  well,  it  takes  a  lot  off  your  plate  and  comes  with  its  own  perks  –  and  yes,  you  guessed  it,  free  ‘me’  time is  most  definitely  one  of  them.

So  whilst  this  is  not  a  guide  on  how  to  be  single  (watch  the  movie  for  that),  it  is  my  way  of  declaring  that, this  year,  my  singleness  isn’t  going  to  define  or  cripple  me  anymore.  Instead,  it  will  allow  me  to  focus  on myself  and  all  the  things  I  must  work  on  improving  before  I  find  my  person  and,  though  I  still  really  do  want to  do  just  that,  I  am  perfectly  okay  on  my  own  until  he  gets  here  –  and  between  you  and  me,  I’ve  survived  my entire  tween  to  early  adult  lifetime  quite  well  on  my  own,  so  I  think  I’ll  be  okay  for  another  few  months  or years  yet.  🙂

I  now  wholeheartedly  believe  that  ‘singlehood’  is  not  a  death  sentence but  rather  a  life  sentence  and  until  you  find  someone  ‘cuddleworthy’ (as  I  like  to  say)  or  who  will  be  the rumble  to  your  thunder,  I  hope  that  you,  too,  will  learn  to  be  happy  and  love  life  all  on  your  lonesome  until they  arrive.

Posted from WordPress for Android by T.A.Ryan

Leave a Reply

