Where The Dress… It’ll Happen Anyway

For  those  of  you  who  don’t  know  something  of  my  life’s  story,  I  am  a  reformed  farm  girl  (and  proud  of  the fact  to  boot).  Why  reformed?  Well,  because  now  I’m  something  of  a  city  gal,  though,  for  as  long  as  I  shall live,  few  things  will  be  able  to  stir  me  quite  as  strongly  as  wide  open  spaces,  the  adulating  countryside, dotted  with  farm  houses  and  deep  blue  dams,  and  mountains,  which  watch  on  from  a  safe  distance  where  I hail  from.

image

Truthfully,  I’m  almost  recklessly  fearless  when  I  return  to  the  farming  communities  that  feel  like  home,  or  at least  home  as  I  like  to  imagine  it:  safe,  constant  and  eternally  ‘there’,  for,  after  my  cautious,  fast-moving  city, it  all  just  feels  insanely  secure.

image

Still,  my  actual  home  is  Cape  Town  now  –  there’s  no  two  ways  about  it  –  but  city  life,  well,  it  took  some getting  used  to,  I  can  tell  you  that,  especially  as  a  young  woman.

Not  because  I  fear  for  my  life  every  time  I  cross  the  street  because  Cape  Town  drivers  are  infamously impatient  and  urban  pedestrians  are,  as  a  whole,  a  rather  careless  breed.

(You  see,  the  only  people  who  spend all  day  waiting  at  the  robots,  or  traffic  lights,  if  you’re  not  from  South  Africa,  or  caught  in  the  middle  of  the road  on  a  narrow  island  are  the  tourists  and,  as  a  matter  of  principle  here,  generally  everyone  else  knows  to just  jaywalk  or  you  will  almost  literally  grow  old  at  the  stop  streets.)

I  often  have  to  ‘show’  tourists  how  and  when  to  cross*  a  road  and  I  generally  feel  a  bit  sorry  for  them sometimes,  they  look  so  helpless  and  perplexed,  and  so  it  was  again  this  week  when  I  unwittingly  played  the Good  Samaritan.  I  was  just  crossing  the  road  but  I  glanced  at  them  when  they  hesitated,  clutching  their  maps (useless  in  Cape  Town,  we  all  get  lost  anyway)  and  then,  at  the  last  moment,  they  hurriedly  followed.  We  got across…  safely,  I  hasten  to  add.

*(A word of caution:  Do  not  cross  with  me  when  I’m  with  any  of  my  friends  though  because  somehow, we’re  all  hopelessly  bad  at  it  then  and  nearly  get  killed  at  least  twice.  Daily.  There’s  also  a  lot  of  jostling  and heart-in-the-mouth  stuff  or  me  complaining  loudly,  saying  something  like,  “Why  do  you  guys  always  pull  me across  the  road  when  you’re  the  reason  I  nearly  get  killed  in  the  first  place?”  or  “I  can  cross  the  road,  you don’t  need  to  hold  onto  me.”)

It’s  not  even  because  strange  people  try  to  touch  me  (Please  don’t.  Just  don’t,  okay?  I  kick  like  a  mule  and  I have  mastered  the  art  of  elbowing  people  in  the  ribs  and  slicing  them  into  pieces  with  death  stares  when  I feel  threatened)  or  because  my  city  isn’t  as  dangerous  as  they  sometimes  make  it  out  to  be  overseas…  I’ll  tell you  why  though.  It’s  probably  not  what  you’re  expecting  but  bear  with  me,  I  am  a  woman  and  it’s  the  little things  that  mean  so  much  to  us  or  that  make  us  fume.

Anyway,  my  good,  road-navigational  assistance  aside,  that  day,  though  the  sun  was  already  beating mercilessly  down  upon  us  that  morning,  for  once  the  perilously  dangerous  Cape Doctor  hadn’t  yet made  an  appearance.  Yet

I  was  glad  of  that  at  least,  for  I  wearing  a  dress  and  heels  and  dear,  sweet  Cape Town  who  I  adore,  I  really  don’t  feel  like  clutching  at  my  skirts  in  fear  every  single  day  during  summer  (and winter…  sigh),  so  thank  you  for  that  rare  boon,  Mother  City.

By  that  time,  the  streets  were  already  crowded,  the  city  was  teeming  with  life  and  activity  and  it  was  nearing brunch-time  (we’re  a  bit  like  hobbits,  we  Capetonians,  as  we  believe  in  ‘elevenses’,  so  shops,  cafés  and restaurants  in  and  around  the  CBD  are  usually  always  busy  at  this  time)  and  I  rather  hoped  I  was  blending into  the  crowd,  dissolving  like  a  chameleon  into-  wait,  no,  scratch  that,  I  wasn’t  blending  in  at  all.  There  I was,  walking  along  dull  gravel-grey  cement  streets  in  bright  floral  straw  wedges  and  an  even  brighter,  I-think-I-just-blinded-the-sun  canary yellow  dress.

image

(Since  I  got  it  for  my  19th  birthday,  I’ve  only  whipped  it  out of  my  closet  about  three  times  each  subsequent  summer…  you  know,  just  to  make  sure  I  don’t  steal  too  much of  the  sun’s  light,  it’s  pretty  bright  and  blinding,  truth  be  told.)

Okay,  so  I  simply  wished  I  was  blending  in  since  I  hate  standing  out,  but  it  was  a  cheery  dress  for  a  happy day  and  right  now,  I  got  that  summertime  gladness,  so  it  seemed  appropriate.  I  like  its  happy  colour,  though  I usually  detest  yellow  clothing.

The  thing  about  my  little  yellow  number  is  that  it’s  relatively  long  as  dresses  go,  with  a  jagged  skirt  that  goes well  below  my  knees  in  places  and  never  any  higher.  It’s  what  you’d  wear  when  you’re  trying  to  impress  your future  in-laws  or  effortlessly  look  respectable  and  a  safe  bet  for  any  ‘smart-casual’  occasion.  It’s  the  kind  of dress  a  woman  wears  when  she  wants  to  feel  and  look  nice  without  attracting  unwanted  (read:  male) attention.

Well,  actually  no…  not  quite.  See,  if  you’re  a  woman  living  in  Cape  Town  and  you  spend  enough  time walking  the  streets  or  passing  through  the  more  public  spaces,  you  inevitably  encounter  an  array  of  almost daily,  unwelcome  ‘compliments’  and  comments  from  the  opposite  sex. 

I’m  sure  it  happens  in  cities  the  world over  but  for  a  little  ol’  country-girl  like  myself,  at  first,  it  was  a  total  shock  to  the  system,  though  I  had expected  it  to  be  worse  actually,  if  I’m  honest.

I  know  it  happens  to  every woman  around  me  too  because  almost  all  of  my  female  friends  have  complained about  it.

What’s more, I  even  remember  walking  with  my  two  friends  past  some  construction  workers  just  outside  our uni.  the  one  time  and  how  we  had  some  seriously  sexist  comments  and  wolf  whistles  aimed  our  way.  We cursed  under  our  breath  and  discussed  whether  it  shouldn’t  somehow  be  illegal,  that  type  of  thing  and  isn’t  it a  kind  of  sexual  harassment?

Look,  I  am  not  saying  every  guy  does  this,  it’s  really  the  minority,  but  there  are  enough  guys  doing  it  for  it  to become  degrading  and  downright  annoying…  and  even  scary  sometimes. 

I  can  assure  you  neither  myself,  nor any  of  my  female  friends  have  ever  wolf-whistled  at  a  good-looking  man  (and  there  are  plenty  of  those  in Cape  Town….  boy,  oh,  boy)  or  said  things  like,  “Lookin’  good  today,  honey,”  when  we  walk  past  them.  We might  collectively  swoon  once  we’re  out  of  sight  or  earshot  or  occasionally  offer  up  a  small,  knowing  smile but  I  have  not  actually  said  anything  about  their  looks  or  the  way  they  are  dressed  to  their  face,  nor  would  I. It  would  embarrass  them  and  I  don’t  think  people  enjoy  being  embarrassed  in  general.

Maybe  women  are  better  at  complimenting  strangers…  because  that  day  I  received  a  lot  of  comments  (from men)  and  supposed  compliments  but  only  the  last  felt  genuine  and  made  me  blush  and  thank  the  person…  and that  sincere  compliment  came  from  a  woman,  a  local  lady  who  works  at  my  local  bakery.

I  don’t  quite  know  how  we  went  from  my  ordering  two  paninis  to  her  smiling  broadly  and  gushing,  “Your dress  is  so  nice.  You  look  really  beautiful  today!”  since  usually  I  just  place  my  order,  thank  her  and  move  on but  there  you  are.  After  that,  I  went  home  feeling  like  a  million  dollars,  which  for  someone  with  a ridiculously  low  self-esteem,  was  a  quiet  blessing,  I’ll  not  deny.  More  than  that  though,  it  made  me  feel  good inside,  not  exposed  or  tainted.

I  did  not,  however,  look  up  or  acknowledge  the  man  who  had  passed  me  on  the  street  earlier  and  said, “Lookin’  really  nice  there  in  your  yellow  dress,  lady.” 

It  wasn’t  necessarily  the  words  that  were  offensive  or tiresome,  it  is  the  implied  meaning  behind  it  or  the  fact  that  he  had  successfully  rendered  an  elegant  term  of referral  such  as  ‘lady’  worthless,  and  the  way  I  automatically  tend  to  think,  “Wow,  thanks…  I  wonder  how many  other  women  you  have  tried  your  luck  with  today?”  or  “Thank  you  for  just  undressing  me  with  your eyes.  Let’s  do  that  again  sometime  when  I  have  an  umbrella  to  swipe  at  or  whack  you  with…  sound  good?”

He  wasn’t  the  first  or  even  the  worst  I’ve  experienced…  he  was  just  one too many on  any  given  day  when  I have  personally  tried  to  dress  nicely  or  elegantly, with no  desire  to  be  addressed  or  interfered  with.

Weirdly,  it  seems  to  happen  most  when  I  try  to  cover  up  and  look  classy,  which  is  something  else  I  have puzzled  over  for  almost  two  years  now…  I  always  imagined  it  happens  more  to  girls  and  women  when  they wear  short  mini-skirts  or  plunging,  cleavage-revealing  dresses.

Before  you  think  there’s  something  wrong  with  me  for  incurring  such  comments,  I  should  say  it  happens  to every  older  girl  and  woman  and  I’m  far  from  the  exception.  It  might  happen  more  to  some  than  it  does  to  me but  the  point  is,  it  shouldn’t  really  happen  at  all…  and  as  women,  we  all  kinda  really  wish  it  didn’t  happen  at all.

I  really  do  feel  beautiful  when  a  guy  gives  me  a  shy  smile  or  looks  once,  twice  and  then  hurriedly  away because  oh-my-gosh-she-just-saw-me-staring,  abort  mission.  Hell,  I  even  like  the  ones  who  pretend  to  be disinterested  right  up  until  they  pass  you  or  vice  versa,  then  hurriedly  shoot  you  a  glance.

I  also  prefer  a  quiet  compliment  but  not  from  random,  strange  men  in  public  spaces  or  on  the  city  streets where  my  looks,  how  I  am  dressed  and  where  I  am  going  or  have  been,  are  really  none  of  your  concern.

I  wish  it  would  end  –  but  I  know  it  won’t  and  for  now,  I  currently  count  myself  lucky  to  have  (unfortunately) received  a  lot  of  comments  and  so-called  compliments  from  male  ‘admirers’  over  the  past  three  years,  but to have  never  yet  received  any  overtly  sexual  innuendos or verbal  harassment.

Today,  it  happened  again  and  I  found  myself  almost  wishing  for  winter  just  so  I  can  pull  on  a  pair  of  jeans  or thick  tights  and  winter  coats  and  ditch  the  skirts  and  dresses  (and  comments)  for  a  few  months…  well,  sort  of. This  time,  however,  when  the  man  sitting  on  a  nearby  wall  in  yet  another  busy  public  space  said  to  me, “Promise  me  you’ll  have  a  super  duper  day  further?”,  I  managed  a  wry  smile,  though  I  shook  my  head  at  him and  his  words.

Sure,  I  can  do  that.  I  can  promise  you  that  I  will  have  a  super  duper  day  –  and,  although  you  feel  chuffed  that you  got  a  reaction  from  me,  it  wasn’t  a  positive  thing.  Not  for  me  and  certainly  not  for  you…  you  and  your like  would  do  well  to  remember  that  next  time  you  unnecessarily  talk  to  us  ladies  and  if  you  hold  your tongue  like  the  true  gentlemen  among  men,  who  look  without  always  lusting,  who  admire  without  openly perving  or  who  simply  compliment  without  fishing,  then  perhaps  you,  too,  might  earn  yourself  a  smile  from a  woman  in  any  kind  of  outfit  at  all.

(Because, let’s face it, it isn’t about the clothes… It’s about how some men still get a kick out of objectifying (yawn) women and making them feel crap on the inside and icky on the outside – and it is entirely abhorrent.)

Though  chances  are, that woman  will  never  be  me… Because as I mentioned earlier, I am  a  reformed  farm  girl and  I  grew  up  in  a  town  where manners  and  respect do actually still  exist  among  members  of  the  opposite  sex (no wonder I never have to worry about how I am dressed back home!)   –  and  out  there,  we  just  don’t  take  kindly to that sort of thing… then again, even here in the Mother City, I don’t really know many people who do.

So I think I will just wear the dress, it’ll happen anyway whether I do or don’t… and more’s the pity.

image

Posted from WordPress for Android by T.A.Ryan

Leave a Reply

